Skip to main content
Free call deliverability test

FCC Partners With States for Robocall Enforcement

A map of the US highlighting 27 specific states

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has been adopting a new strategy for enforcing robocall regulations that involves signing Memoranda of Understanding (MOU) with state attorneys general. In recent weeks, the FCC has announced MOUs with multiple states, usually in batches. The latest batch has now ensured that the FCC’s Enforcement Bureau has MOUs with a majority of states—27 and the District of Columbia.

The latest batch of MOUs are with the attorneys general of Alaska, California, Tennessee, Pennsylvania, and Washington. In the FCC’s press release announcing this latest batch of bi-lateral robocall investigation partnership includes a quote from Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel: “It shows that we are united when it comes to fighting robocalls—urban, rural, north, south, east, and west. Today I invite every state and U.S. territory to join this effort and establish information sharing and cooperation structures with the FCC so we can work together to investigate and put an end to spoofing and robocall scam campaigns.”

The FCC’s robocall investigation partnerships now involve the following states:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

The FCC has reached out to the remaining unaffiliated state attorneys general to establish similar partnerships.