Skip to main content

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

What is the TILA?

First enacted into law in 1968, the Truth In Lending Act (TILA) governs the way lenders and creditors disclose information about their financial goods and services to consumers. Initially overseen by the Federal Reserve Board (FRB), the TILA has been enforced by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) since 2011. 

The TILA’s provisions cover most sorts of consumer credit—such as home mortgages, car loans, credit cards, and equity lines of credit—which are the sorts of credit that can lead to debt collection.

What is the FCRA?

The Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) is the primary federal law covering the rules on the collection and reporting of consumer credit information. It was passed into law in 1970. It is enforced by the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB). 

The FCRA sets rules on how credit bureaus can obtain consumer credit information, how long they can store that information, who they can share that information with, and what sort of information they can collect. The FCRA allows credit bureaus to collect the following kinds of information: 

What is the FDCPA?

The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) was originally passed in 1977 but was significantly amended as a part of the legislative reforms instituted by the Dodd-Frank Act of 2010. Enforced by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), the FDCPA enumerates restrictions for the behavior of third-party debt collectors who collect on debts owed to another person or entity. Debt collectors who violate the FDCPA can be sued in state or federal court for damages and legal fees within one year of the violation(s).